The Curious Case of Busy Barry

pic by Jean

pic by Jean

When students reach the finals week/s, I have observed, they get to voluntarily stray away from the lovely splendor of social network sites (Ah, the crappy quizzes in Facebook! I shall go forth and Multiply! From Twitter with love…). But there have been such cases where the execution is hugely involuntary: My case. If I hadn’t known any better, I nearly abandoned my blog in stupor.

People cannot tone down the crazy bone. Because of such intense stress, I have seen the lambs evolve into wolves, then I’d spend time rationalizing what’s wrong with them- or with me. A CMC librarian known for her niceness I had approached yesterday only to hear her raise her voice for the first time, “Ano baaa?” the lamb cried. I can’t blame her though; there was a time where my face was kissing my laptop screen for a Socio101 paper. I was sitting on the corridors and then my blockmates came and greeted me cheerily. I arrogantly greeted them back with my right palm stiff in the air. Consequently they chorused, “Ay? Busy.

My friends would not seem to reply to my urgent text messages, unless I said I’m about to slash my wrist. In school, there seemed to be an atmosphere of a crammed newsroom or TV studio during times of war. I then spaced out and imagined my astral personality leaving my harassed body. Literal escapism, it is.

My semester is not yet O V E R. This is The Situation I was perpetually horrified since freshman year- staying for so long, so long that the next semester’s enrollment is just around the corner. I’m bitter with a passion. Many of my batchmates are.

I feel violated when my friends from other schools would deluge Multiply with their sembreak and summer pictures. I want to thunder summer curses, “Summer of a bitch! Move over sunshiney ho-bags! Babangon ako at… magbabakasyon! You’ll friggin see!” But as my requirements say, my vacation officially starts this Thursday night. And the summer enrolment? April 7. April 7! That’s already next week. Before holy week! Doesn’t the academe care about Lent? Don’t they care about our souls hungry of rest and pampering?! My foot massage. My derma. My Razon’s halo-halo. My picnic time. My sleeeeep!

A little fortunate, my summer will be spent in the confines of an air-conditioned building, doing internship. I should be thankful for this (even if I tend to recall my bum summer last year dreamily). I haven’t even watched any American Idol episode YET!

To my friends who have graduated high school and especially college, a great future ahead. I’m sorry of not being able to greet you personally. The news of your celebrations never reach my doorstep.

And the good news? I have returned to blogging.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on March 31, 2009, in Campus, Hate Letters. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. cakiedoodledhere

    You haven’t watched Idol?

    You are, officially, a LOSER.

    Wait, up to what time is the deadline for CommRes tomorrow?

  2. omg mahiya ka.
    nagthe-thesis ako and i watch idol. LoL
    go barry go! kaya mo yan!

  3. Great site this barrycyrus.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

  4. terrific site this barrycyrus.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

  5. brill site this barrycyrus.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

