The Non-life

This time, it’s serious: I feel like like splitting myself into half because of the amount of busy that has penetrated my entire body.

It’s the kind of busy that has annoyed myself and the people closest to me—amongst them are my parents, who call at the most random hours of the day to share a (petty) chat. The worst scenarios would be during typhoons. In the middle of a writing or editing session at the office, my mother, who’s in the province, would ring my phone to tell me that the roads of Metro Manila have already been washed out with flood water. As if I didn’t know that already, she’d command, “It’s flooded everywhere! You should head home now!”

Helpful.

Only a few understands. Some people just don’t. I sometimes don’t feel explaining the nature of my job, or… why I’m so busy. I don’t  like telling them that I spent the month of June, with days when I would literally wake up, take a bath, brush my teeth, head to work, then return home, brush my teeth, take a bath, sleep… then do the same as the sun rises anew.

On a separate note, some thinks I’ve completely left my duties to do/finish our, yes, college yearbook. My college batchmates are getting upset by the minute. Again, I deeply apologize for soooo not having done it on time. I’m actually always trying to squeeze it in my schedule, believe it or not. And again, it’s already in the final works so I hope you just give me more time.

I know, my non-life is crazy and, like I said, annoying. But I’m going to change that for myself, foremost. Lately, at least, I’ve been attempting to complete my sleep hour-minimum of nine. Tonight, for example, on a day that’s not completely loaded with work, I’m supposed to go for a drink with some friends. But I think I might just stay at home. See, now, I value sleep more than anything. It’s when I sleep that I get the best chance to be with myself and away from it all.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on July 7, 2012, in Pointlessness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hello, Barry! Oh, man… I know the feeling. The past few years, college plates and projects kept my already-ruined body clock, well, ruined. (OK, I ruined my own body clock since I also have this knack for watching TV shows and listening to music in the wee hour.) And although I already have multiple attempts to get things right, it’s only this year that I get to really appreciate sleep because I feel way tired that unusual. By then, I’m, like, 21 but I already feel like two times my age, which is a feeling I REALLY don’t like.

    So, I did something about it for real: I didn’t took summer classes, and then I started sleeping before 2am, then 1am, then so on. And although I’d still have to be sleepless every once in a while when there’s a big project or whatever, I’d get tired less nowadays thanks to that summer period. One bad thing about it though is that sometimes that I’d get tired way before my bed time, but still, body clock’s fine now!

    Anyway, just keep on going, and do what you have to do to get rid of that body-splitting feeling. You’ll get it together again sooner or later! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

