An Eternal Fame

(Another video at the end of this entry =] How miserable, the video would sound like it was taken during a war, so I took it out anyway.)

In the past weeks, my College friends were babbling about this UP Centennial Kick-off (held Jan. 8). I really didn’t mind about it since Its Excellence, Holy Academics was killing me. Then came Tuesday, everyone was really insanely excited about this event, WTF?!

3PM- Thank goodness, I brought my personal cam; as my J102 professor has put it, this is just a once-in-a-lifetime experience, or if miraculously plausible we have to wait for the 200th year celebration. In her words, we were “lucky”. So with some blockmates, I joined the STAND-UP contingent for the motorcade/parade. But for a while, I felt some kind of onus to split from them because I really really wanted to harness my petty immature photographic skills and — well, take pictures. Lol.

I went with Amae and Anne (who also brought their cams) and stood as close to the paraders’ way – prompted for a gazillion times by the SSB and student volunteers to stay back – auspiciously we were polite enough to heed their words. I even theorized that those “enforcers” would have us “kicked-off” if we wont follow their regulations. Lol. There was a moment when my umbrella covered Anne’s face that she screamed that her “beauty” would be hidden away from some “boylaloo” she was eyeing. Lol. Surprisingly I also saw our HS valedictorian (from UP Manila). And I realized how tremendous the scene was. Almost an onslaught.

UP Dilim? Let it not be.

My nightmare of getting home early struck me so I rode the UP-Katipunan jeepney at exactly 6pm; in that moment, I just became conscious of the memento of exhaustion. Whew! Oh, I heard someone along the way who remarked, “You know what, adrenaline nalang ang bumubuhay sa akin!”

Another great effort I utilized was to ingest a Jupiter-size of chutzpah when I asked to have pictures with music Maestro Ryan Cayabyab and veteran broadcast journalist/ Gawad Plaridel 2007 awarded Che-che Lazaro. They were just two of the 100 (?) torchbearers who lit the UP cauldron along with Richard Gomez, Ramon Bautista and Mikaela Fudolig whom I saw. Others said thar andun daw si Franklin Drilon. There was a slim chance when director Maryo J. delos Reyes passed by just ONE meter in front of me and I was too damn star struck to go near him [and have a photo]. It was my categorical frustration that night!

So there, I hope I didn’t bore you guys. But I tell you, I enjoyed REALLY. Some people would hypothesize about how overwhelming the IQs of the crowds standing on such bastion of excellence, that it cannot be contested. I’m just glad that I’m in UP; that’s all.

Hail the University of the Philippines (1908-2008), celebrating its 100 Years of Existence

Excellence!

(All pictures HERE)

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on January 14, 2008, in Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. ohmy.. my shot is soooo goooodd,.. SOO MUUUCCHHH!!

  2. “There was a moment when my umbrella covered Anne’s face that she screamed that her “beauty” would be hidden away from some “boylaloo” she was eyeing. Lol”

    aba.. talagang blinog nga!! wlanghiya!

  3. “You know what, adrenaline nalang ang bumubuhay sa akin!”

    hahaha lang.. i sooo agree kung sino man nagsabi neto!!!

  4. Hey, I wasn’t there during the kick-off. May klase ate kami. Too bad! I should’ve at least feel the crowd and the celebration as well.

  5. ei barry, you met my lolo na pala!! haha! how is he na? you know, ryan cayabyab…… haha! o yan,

  1. Pingback: [202] Insecurity Guard « Pasukan na Naman

Leave a Reply

