¿Quien Sabe?

A close friend personally asked me a couple of days ago if school politics interest me. She was egging me to her party as a certified prospect for the next academic year. I was out of words. After some split seconds of bemusement, I strictly retorted, “Ako? As in… ako?”

Politics in UP, as far as I have witnessed it, is a complex civilization of intelligent elites and freedom fighters. If I were to enter, the whole alarm system could go blaring as an innocent alien has intruded indiscriminately. For further security, they could wear their complete leather gear as to mask themselves from my cluelessness in politics.

And before they could ask what the hell was I doing there, I’d say first, “I come in peace. But I see that umm, never mind. I’ll go back to my planet.”

In short, I still don’t know if I’m an altruistic collegian or an apathetic nonpartisan.

(We all believed that my fifth grade experience doesn’t count. It was a matter of feigning leadership just so I could regularly see my crush who also happened to be an officer of the student body).

If Emile Durkheim was reading this, he could’ve lectured me about functionalism, “Everyone has a role to portray… blah blah.” Yeah, what IS my role then? I admittedly do not know pa.

Maybe I would me more efficient as a council member. Or as an ordinary student just observing national and campus issues and sludging it on the council. Or as a nachos moron watching television for the entire day. Gee, I dunno.

Joining a party would also mean giving in to its dogma. Am I willing to succumb to it?

See? This is just plain pondering but hell, it feels like Collin Farrell in Alexander. I need a lot of pondering time.

One thing’s for sure! I will not be joining campus politics just becaues a party- or council-mate would happen to be my crush. Like, come on!

(Or not).

PS Very incoherent entry, my apologies.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on August 27, 2008, in Politics and Sociology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. si EIC ba siya? yikee.😛

  2. ngek, i think you got it all wrong. haha

  3. yes jau, you got it all wrong. buti pako gets ko agad.😄

    ikaw bahala barry. pero if you do decide to run, ikaw na ang middleman namin sa hot off. hohohoho.

  4. ah, sorry naman. daming girls ni barry e. haha!

  1. Pingback: [269] No Hard Feelings « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

