Now Here to Nowhere

I’m a journalism junior and ruminating over an optimistic career has been lovely. But right when my sixth semester has to end, therefore signaling my self to put into padlock my chances of straying from this course, I feel like shifting.

I don’t know why I’m so filled with downbeat moods lately. I think it’s because I’m so tired of giving every inch of effort I have in my nerve endings JUST to make my requirements ace. I feel like Tom Cruise auditioning for a role which likely would fall on someone with the looks and personality of Mike Myers. My J121 professor once commented on one of our take-home tasks:

“Note: You tend to do more than what is asked for. Keep things simple. Effort is recognized though.”

I find it apt to translate it into:

“Barry, drop the ostentations. Chill, OA ka na.”

After graduation, I would really like to explore the media to an extent of not getting too famous and scandalous, the likes of Noli de Castro, Arlyn dela Cruz, Judith Miller, Lowell Bergman or Ces Drilon are. My ultimate dream though is to be visible in all media, from newspapers to magazines to television to radio to blogs. Euphoria.

The irony is that, NO, I do not want to be in a police beat as a starter, in which case, if I really wanted to be A Journalist, that’s usually where everyone commences. Right now, I do visualize my self as a full-time negligible drone, in a flimsy uniform who is confined in an air-conditioned headquarters, who does earn really big but does not cultivate whatever he’s learned in college.

I have no beef with this species of yuppies, yes, very hardworking, but I guess I was just tremendously idealistic. I’m beginning to have their genetics though, coz I wanna get really really… (ethical and) rich.

PS All of these random philosophies merely puffed in my head after a graduating orgmate Micah once posed, “Ikaw ba, sure ka na ba talaga sa journ?”

The power of Micah Pua.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 10, 2008, in Campus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ako rin! I know how this feels like. Find a reason to stay and hold on to it. ^^

  2. oh barry i just read this and i don’t know what to say.wait,r u certain it was me?hehehehe

  1. Pingback: Chit Estella, 54 « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

