Cabbie Bears

The countdown ends in…

Picture by Dreo

Picture by Dreo

7 My mom and I jammed into a white cab last Sunday morning. The cabbie asked, “Where to?” Greenhills, the mag-ina chorused. 

After a few minutes of travel, the man posed, “Where does this road progress?” indicating a narrow street.

“Uh, Partas station?” I pointed out.

After a few minutes again in EDSA naman, he asked, “Ibabaw o ilalim?” We got confused, “Whichever,” I suggested for my mom.

“Thanks, please point to me later where Greenhills is located,” he oddly requested. Ooh, no sweat, there’s a GPS embedded in my system, I thought,

“I’m sorry po. I’m just five months in this taxi career. That is, I’ve been a jeepney driver for a long time. As a matter of fact, I’m just guessing which street I’m to take,” he explained.

6 After procuring a shirt in my favorite clothing shop, Artwork, I gently asked the salesperson, “Miss, ‘til when is the sale?” The lady promptly answered, “31. September 31.” I checked my phone’s calendar, September had got only 30 days.

5 The amusing Alice argued with my mom, “Why do ginitaan cuisines have niyog for an ingredient?” With winkled brows, my mother imposingly discussed the etymology of the word ginitaan.

4 SM City Marikina was externally a photogenic prospect, only that upon entering, the thousands of people crammed inside made me feel dizzy. The restaurants both class and fast food seeped with mall goers. Anyway, I was quite disappointed that most of the mall’s volume contained their Department Store, and not shops galore. But still, I’m no shopper. Dunkeir.

3 My bright niece Belle from the hallway excitedly rushed daw to the Crocs stall in SM when she saw my other cousin, “Andun si Tita! Andun si Ti-” then she knocked herself on the almost transparent glass of that trendy slipper store. Poor girl.

2 I’m cramming a feature article for tomorrow. =)

1 Just celebrated with family last weekend, won’t be making libre anymore. =p

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 16, 2008, in Campus, Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. panalo ang saleslady sa artwork.
    baka ibig niyang sabihin hindi na matatapos ang sale. haha. I WISH!

  2. no libre!?!

  3. happy bday bareeee

    😀

Leave a Reply

