Bitter in Context

Friday afternoon. Draped in some sleeved maroon sweatshirt But I was already freezing in class. “Hey,” I asked my seatmate, “Is it just me, or  some Herculean man outside uprooted our classroom and threw all of us  somewhere in the North Pole– without us knowing?” She felt warm instead, she retorted. Fine, I was abnormal.

After class, I trotted to MassComm: knees literally shivering as if I was attacked by some deadly blizzard in the dunes. It was serious. Coz I was murmuring the three most basic Catholic prayers. It was serious, I thought.

At home, I went utterly traditional and did this wet towel over forehead remedy, after gulping some capsules. I felt burning. And I seemed to have my head swirl whenever I stand and walk. Saturday, and my temperature reached more than 40 degrees-Celsius. I missed going to that AdSpeak student judging stint in Letran. Man.

My body temp was inconsistent and alarming; so finally, I said that once I reached another hot peak again, I’m gonna be in a hospital. I lost my cravings, and necessities to munch anything. Everything tasted like ampalaya. I occasionally smelled this strange ampalaya odor, too. Blech.

Speaking of odor, there was this omnipresent scent of tuna, which was my baon last Friday. I didn’t like it coz I was used to loved Century, so I shared it to others and threw the rest. Gross, really. And then, to my anxiety, that disgraceful odor was like everywhere. The horror, really.

Came Monday, I felt a little better. And my appetite came back. I taste the right sweets, sours, salties, spicies, bitteries, yuckies, etc. And the tuna was gone!

Hopefully, I can go to school tomorrow. I’m not doing baon for now, I mean suasages/Spam/tuna is making me a preservative bag. Good health is all I ask. Don’t be sick, guys, take care of your selves. Because really, who could endure that tuna smell and the ampalaya taste?

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Short Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i love tuna. haha. ampalaya though sucks.

  2. but ampalaya is like, good for your health and stuff…you should try it!hahaha

  3. alagaan mo ang sarili mo, puhunan mo iyan.

Leave a Reply

