Hush Yuppies

In my first internship day- yesterday, a fellow intern from the HR of Summit sort of oriented me and my TopGear buddy Kelvin about dressing good. “(Chatter chatter) The attire is smart casual but as you can see, people here are more laidback so just make your selves presentable.” I bowed down and retorted, “Yeah. We’ll make sure.

Feeling Yuppie
Feeling Yuppie

For weeks, I have always been excited about My First Day, ye know, wherein finally I’m one with the ersatz-accented young urban professionals of our country. Dressing (or looking) good is probably one of the main reasons why I want to be like them, second only to having a Blackberry and swaggering with Arrow everyday.

mackeysI won’t be disclosing here what our tasks were, are and will be, as to not spoil everything. In the cubicle I grudgingly (haha!) share with Kelvin, I’m just glad that I’m with the magazine staff that’re nice in the first hours of my media indoor dwelling. I especially got star struck upon seeing the mighty editor-in-chief Vernon Sarne who looked fierce in the photos, but boy, has he got congeniality above all.

topgearmags

I also seem to have a good company in the house with journ dudettes Paula (from PEP) and Ivy (from the PR department). With all these perks, the worst thing that could happen to me well… happened! The FX-MRT route I achieved was enormously draining. I’m fine with the former, but the floating train squeezes my sweat gland like nuts. One I have to fall in line to purchase a card, and two, I have to stuff my whole humanity in a crowd whose only polite distance to each other is their breathing space. I’m so relieved that I’m not claustrophobic or else, I’d have to grow porcupine spines so that people would not think of nearing me.

mrtcardHopefully, I’d get successful with whatever I wreak in TopGear, I’m loving this magazine and it’s just the second day today. I was an ass though yesterday for gorging a McDo sundae inside the office where it was said to be prohibited. Lol! I know, you cannot stop me.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 16, 2009, in Campus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. hay. the mrt experience haha

  2. cakiedoodledhere

    Duuuude! You have AC! That should make you jump for joy!

    My first day in PDI, I covered New Era General Hospital and Camp Karingal.

    Ted Failon fan, is that you?!

    HAHAHAHAHA.

    And man! The sun was extra mean that day.

    At least I did 14.5 hours!😀

    HEY! Let’s Trinoma… We owe each other a movie! Since I was fail for… ugh you know… Hahaha.

  3. Wow. Internship :]
    Hey. Dotcom nako🙂 Kamusta naaaaa😀

  4. And I also am from UP Dliman🙂

  5. MRT is the shit especially during rush hours. You’ll get to know (and feel) lots of people!!

  6. wow kainggit.. jan ka nag intern? sosyal… thou i wanted to be part of that company pero di talaga ako magaling magsulat… hehehehe…

    nwei, goodluck sa internship…

  7. hear hear!! MRT sucks bigtime!!

  8. akala mo lang masarap pero sa totoong hamon na naku po mas masarap pa! enjoy ka lang at love what u are doing at mamahalin ka din ng trabaho mo🙂

  9. I think I saw you in Araneta Center-Cubao!

  10. nice! haha i was excited din nung first day ko because of the outfits. nothing makes me feel more like a young professional than showing up in a nice, clean outfit.

  1. Pingback: [280] Light My Tire « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

