Do I look like a Man who Exaggerates?

I tend to have a maximized social circle but came the screening of the fourth X-Men installment, I felt like moving to Genosha. My preferred movie dates were busy, have watched it exactly one minute before I asked them, outta town, or omyfriggin downloaded the unedited version. I’m supposed to view it with my fellow fanboys next weekend but my itch was unquencahable. I rushed to Robinson’s last Saturday.

Brothers and Blood

Brothers and Blood

X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a triumphant follow-up to the third movie, The Last Stand where a lot of mutants were chucked in that they looked humans. It’s a Gavin Hood film of characters, with characters. Because really, who can take another James Marsden?

Wolverine is apparently about Logan’s history, and if I say history, it’s literal. Little Logan (beforehand named Jimmy, no wonder he later changed it) and little Victor, brothers gifted with exoskeletons, enhanced senses, and regeneration live an average 1845 Canadian life. Only having been disowned after a family massacre, they trek the wages of war. The opening credits feature them all grown-up raiding the costume department as mercenaries. They are conveyed as brothers, and the director shows their tightness without even trying.

Deadpool, Gambit, Wolverine, Sabrettoh, Kayla

Deadpool, Gambit, Wolverine, Sabretooth, Kayla

Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) and (Liev Schreiber) are then convinced by the manipulative Gen. William Stryker to work under the government. They sign-up in a motley of fellow mutants and after seeing harshness all throughout, Logan leaves the team to be a, yes, lumberjack. He’s with his wife Kayla (the confusing heritage makes me think she was Mariko, but she looks more Western) who gets murdered by Logan’s brother in fashionable long coat.

Logan: You’re gonna die for what you did to her!

Sabretooth: Do you even know how to kill me?

Logan: I’m gonna cut your God damn head off. See if that works.

It turns out Kayla (Lynn Collins) is alive and also a mutant working for Stryker. The evil colonel strings everything into place just so he can transform Wolverine into Weapon X, complete with the adamantium system.

The water's so cold!

The water's so cold!

The director does his job in this one. He takes our eyeballs directly where the action starts. He pans the camera from the air and swiftly plummets it to the ground. Snips of the floor are blown but I want more.

Wade Wilson: Great, stuck in an elevator with 5 guys on a high protein diet.

William Stryker: Oh Wade!

Wade Wilson: Dreams really do come true.

William Stryker: Now just shut it! You’re up next.

Wade Wilson: Thank you sir, you look really nice today. It’s the green, it brings out the seriousness in your eyes.

Logan: Oh my God, do you ever shut up, pal?

Wade Wilson: No, not while I’m awake.

The only thing funny in this movie is the casting: when I read Will.I.Am., Daniel Henny and “And Ryan Reynolds” in the beginning, I choke my chips. Reynolds is every teen guy’s idol, of course but the “And” preceding His VandWilderness does not meet the expectations for his appearance. Taylor Kitsch (who plays Gambit) is profoundly the next big character next to Schreiber as he suavely plays his deck. Schreiber is indeed someone who kills without the stare, to think that he lacks in here the wacko image, and the hippie long hair.

Deadpool (Wade Williams)

Deadpool/Wade Williams (Reynolds WTF?!)

And Jackman? I wanna will be like him when I grow up. But I could use some Gillette when that time comes.

RELATED POSTS:

Hugh Jackman in the Oscar’s

Van Wilder movie review

DISCLAIMER: Pictures were all googled.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on May 4, 2009, in Mmmovies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. OHEMGEE.

    I drooled over the overload of man candy in that movie.

    I am so crushing on Gambit (Taylor Kitsch) – I’m such a sucker for guys with long hair. I, however, wasn’t able to drool on his body… never saw it. Hahaha… That honor is awarded to Hugh Jackman and Ryan fucking Reynolds.

    Goddammit. Hormonal-woman’s heaven, I tell you.

    Cake

  2. My god, the scenes just kept playing in my head. Especially that top-of-the-nuclear-reactor fight scene. I love how they seemed to be dancing with every movement.~ ❤ BACK-TO-BACK! Yey!

    (Btw, typos. :p)

  3. SPOILLLEEERRR!!! I’m dying to seee that movie. I’m an X-Men fanboy!

  1. Pingback: [407] Anti Name-discrimination « I D I O T B O X

  2. Pingback: Time to wear my underwear inside out « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

