Shallow (Is it me you’re looking for?)

Days ago after finally finishing my enrollment [See schedule here], I with two blockmates wandered in the busy din of Ayala, Makati. I was supposed to be watching a movie with them– not Angels & Demons though, Ela suggested that if I was itching so ravenously, I should better watch it by myself. I went, “Not again?!”– but the afternoon was fading into the night. Congratulations to us who failed with the mission. As Twigs and I then dawdled around the tree-lined streets where young urban professionals glided by, emblazoning their Aldo’s and incidentally similar long-sleeves, I began asking myself… where the hell was I.

In which case, last night’s news made me nothing more but embarassed to have walked past those weird-English-speaking people. In this country, only does the word “yuppie” elate someone; across the Pinoy shores and history, to be called such in the late 80s, 90s, to be referred to as these damned ambitious subspecies was almost a curse.

The television glared with a reporter asking these yuppies on why the choice of NOT joinng the district-centered demonstrations against the Cha-Cha. A couple striding on the Ayala sidewalks disconcerted me to the bones with their intelligent answers…

MAN: May pasok eh. Tsaka nakakapagod. (I have work today. And it’s too tiring.)

WOMAN: Ang dami nang mga rallies eh. Edsa 1, Edsa 2, wala namang nangyayari. Ang mga namumuno nag-iiba pero pareho pa rin yung gobyerno. (There have been too many rallies such as the two former EDSA ones, but nothing has changed. The officials may have changed but not the government system.)

AND I thought I was shallow. Right now, I think people are marching to Ayala, to wail our rights out and… what am I still doing here?!

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on June 10, 2009, in Culture, Politics and Sociology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. As I said:

    Yuppies? Someday, barry, you’ll eat your words..=)

  1. Pingback: [310] Raped by a Gorilla « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

