Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Poop

Patrick McKenna Whut?

Patrick McKenna Whut?

I’m glad I didn’t get to spend a lot to watch Ron Howard’s Angels & Demons in the big screen, or else I would have to garrote myself. I’m stingy that way: A fair price for a fair quality, good enough for a principle. Nevertheless, the movie is one heck of a cuss word buffet, which reminds me again to NEVER watch book-based flicks.

What the hell... the Antimatter!

What the hell... the Antimatter!

Apparently, there are many inconsolable twists in the film version, that for a non-reader, it would be confusing at best. The stupid impression is that everything happens in 24 hours and Howard cannot compress it into 90 minutes or so. Gazillion characters. Too much crowds. Flit there, flit here.

Camerlengo: Christianity’s most sacred codices are in that archive. Given your recent entanglement with the church, there is a question I’d like to ask you first, here, in the office of His Holiness… Do you believe in God, sir?

Robert Langdon: Father, I simply believe that religion…

Camerlengo: I did not ask if you believe what man says about God. I asked if you believe in God.

Langdon: I’m an academic. My mind tells me I will never understand God.

Camerlengo: And your heart?

Langdon: Tells me I’m not meant to. Faith is a gift that I have yet to receive.

The genius description of the branding is altered by the passable visuals. Dammit, I’m supposed to be grossed out but all I get is, “That’s it?” The only part fitting is the toasting of Cardinal Guidera at Santa Maria della Vittoria. Crackling fire. Howling old man. Check.

Black is the new black...

Black is the new black...

The greatest antithesis though is the Hassassin. He’s not that scary enough. And setting me to swallow myself whole is the mad lack of madness of the mad camerlengo played by Ewan McGregor.

RELATED POST: Angels & Demons Book Review.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on June 27, 2009, in Mmmovies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. ROFL on the “or else I would have garrote myself.”

    BUT OH NOES DOES THAT MEAN YOU’RE NOT WATCHING HARRY POTTER?

  2. watch the time traveler’s wife. baka ma-disappoint ka rin.

  3. haha, naenjoy ko naman yung movie. (naenjoy ko din yung book.)

    but then, i left my Film graduate self outside the theater that night.

  4. LOL that’s really funny!

  5. i was reading the book but stoped fo 2 moths now. it neva happened b4.

Leave a Reply

