Good Denims Go Bad

dr_jeanI was almost to recant my meteoric tirades about the rain. But lately, I’ve been waking up to a deafening downpour. I laze down with the hope that someone would text that classes got suspended. I disappoint myself more waiting for nothing. I walk out of the house in denim only to get it… wet.

I know we all have denims in our closets; some may rather have denims than closets themselves. Those blue jeans are so ubiquitous that you can match it with anything. Don’t they only look utilitarian and edgy, but when it’s shaded dark they come as nonetheless classy. I like mine semi-fit so air can still cool my thighs. Girls probably like theirs fit to their limbs that you’d wonder how they ever move. And of course, guys emulate the bizarre idea and walk around looking like shanghai rolls.

But when you think of it, are denim jeans really for all time and seasons? When it’s starkly hot and humid, would you wear them? When it’s harshly raining outside, would you walk around in them?

MenStyle blogs about this fashion issue and reacts why Americans in general love denims so much. Hmm, so are the Filipinos I see (imperialism, anyone?). He says that denims are not germane to hot weather. He adds that chinos,khakis, etc. are better appropriate.

Don’t get me wrong, I love denim too…but wearing your heavy Japanese selvage denim in the heart of the sticky summer with sweat beading down your brow just doesn’t make sense. Invest in some lightweight cotton pants. Khakis, chinos, cotton trousers, whatever you want to call them. Not only do they breathe much better, but they give you a smarter summer casual look. [Men’s Style]

Also, I beg to add that they are inappropriate for rainy seasons. I think it’s hassling to march around with the bottom of your denim drenched, which is an experience I have attended not to endure again. Now how can we guys resolve this? How can we ditch the routine we have grown up with?

Wear shorts. I’ve been doing it lately; match it with flip-flops or sneakers or anything, and it would not appear as if you just woke up late and resulted to wearing pambahay. More importantly shorts are good for both hot and cold weathers. The shorts meanwhile should be as comfy as possible too, which means the denim is out. To fit with any shirt color, try it in gray, dirty white, and brown. Go on, fight the crazy rain (and sunlight) in style.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 10, 2009, in Style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hanggang school uniform lang ako, eh.

  2. hi barry!

    patambay muna ako.

    wala kasi akong magawa. 🙂 hehehe.

  3. watever they say. kanya kanya lang yan barry.

Leave a Reply

