To the Things that Make Sense

My first statement for this blog entry deserves candor of its own: WORRY NOT, I AM SAFE.

You might not be worrying at all. But being a resident of Marikina, the tide failed to swallow me. The wind drew back from my stature and the rage of nature marched back to his aunties. I cannot die. I am incapable of dying. To surprise my relatives’ home, more known as indestructible, Ondoy (Ketsana) blew our minds off with a bang. The waters rushed inside Saturday noon, until it reached thigh level (at the first floor) that night. Furniture, appliances, heavy furniture and  heavy appliances, were miraculously carried upstairs. Outside, the downpour was unstoppable. And the rest of Metro Manila was havoc.

The government on Tuesday has confirmed a total of 246 people dead and nearly 40 people still missing following devastating floods and landslides in Luzon caused by tropical storm Ondoy.

As of 3 p.m., the National Disaster Coordinating Council (NDCC) said it has accounted for 246 dead people with 101 of the fatalities coming from Metro Manila and 105 from Region IV-A.

The NDCC said 38 people remain missing and 5 people were injured due to flashfloods and landslides that hit several areas in Luzon on Saturday.

The number of those affected by the tropical storm’s onslaught on Saturday has climbed to 1.93 million. [ABS-CBN News]

As of now, classmates and alumni of schools and universities including UP are doing their own charitable deeds for the sake of those in need. I would love to help, I really want to, but I’m also troubled by the chaos at home. I’m trying to get back to normal but my environment tells me that it will go a long way. The last time I checked the groceries, the goods were also in disarray. As if rats ransacked the whole place.

You know this state of calamity has dragged people, even the affluent, to zero. The Philippines is really a poor country. Wipe away globalization, capitalism, cyberspace and all drivels of prosperity. These are illusions- we seriously need a government that helps and provides.

This is not to question the goodness of the private entities that provide relief goods. They know the Beatitudes and they deserve the best salutations. This  disposition, I pronounce, is more political than ever; point all middle fingers on the public officials who squander money on something else than saving lives. Yesterday, I saw in the news that the Malacañang was now open for relief services. Guess what: No one came (at least that’s what the reporter said).

See how the public distrusts you– even in times of disaster. We are not attracted to how you spread your pseudo-philanthropic arms. We are not going to turn to you even if our tonsils are in dire dryness, or even if we’re holding on to the beams of their rooftops. We pay the taxes. Give them back by providing BETTER public services! Don’t tell us that the money we give is not enough! It can escalate to improvement, if only you know how to appropriate!

You see, I never miss a single day where Marikina engineering men are digging and repairing roads and highways. It’s like praying the rosary on a daily basis; they would feel guilt if they didn’t perform this ritual. But wait, why do they keep  drilling and drilling repairing and repairing and I see that flood control never improves? Why don’t the officials aim for permanent projects given that they have all the resources? Why do they settle for band-aid solutions even if they have the afford  the hospital charges? Why on earth, people?

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 30, 2009, in Nature, Politics and Sociology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. “we seriously need a government that helps and provides”

    forealz??

    “we seriously need ‘other countries’ that helps and provides”

    sana ang itinutulong ng ibang basna ay mapunta sa dapat kalagyan at HINDI SA BUNGANGA NG MGA putris na BUWAYA!!

    • your comment seem oxymoronic. “other countries?” why them? why must we always depend on places outside our borders? this is to put simply, why do we have to make utang?

  2. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

  3. thank God, i live on the 5th floor

  1. Pingback: [330] 500 Days of Sembreak « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

