500 Days of Sembreak

With Yayi and CarolAt first, I was often envied for having had more than two weeks for semester break. Others miserably had barely a week to retire and to free themselves from all campus hustles. Perhaps last semester was my most bloody of all (I actually say this all the time, but I got oh-so-good grades so I don’t mind that much now) from the tedious shiz around. Remember when school was supposed to start in June when swine flu broke in the public ignorance? Holidays were then parading, typhoons canceling classes, and flash floods unleashing great urges to move the academic calendar, hence prolonging the adrenaline charge in our stricken bodies. I was in surreal feeling to have started my sembreak came October 17. If it came later I could have, yes, died.

And so again, to bring some nostalgia, this is officially my last sembreak before I (gulp) graduate. It’s awful to think that after briefly five months, I will face what people call “real world” and submerge myself in the corrupt Philippine system. I’ve spent my rest days making my father’s okay with his “illness,” and pitching to him that I do need my own mode of transportation soon, other than PUVs. I could only dream of course.

Shortly, we visited the city of Baguio for a departed grandmother. It was nice seeing people I was genetically related to but I found the long usual kumustahan’s not feign but cheesy. I was generally overwhelmed by memorizing all names of people who only knew me as a small quite kid, and don’t know the rest of my life. Yes, I am an introvert in family reunions and gatherings especially when dealing with relatives who’re generations older than me. Luckily before going home, I had the chance to sneak out and wander in the Session Road crowds alone. I then met up with Keneth who accompanied his shobe to enroll in SLU, and spent some horrific Burnham Park boating with them.

Likely, I also made some time to meet up with my high school pals on semreak. It was not so long ago when we graduated high school and cursed our nun administrators behind their immaculate backs. After entering college, we used to rendezvous a lot, and end up talking all the insane stories of elementary to high school to whatever memory portal we could think of. A lot have changed, they’ve smoked, drank more than usual, discriminated against smokers and drinkers, boasted their numerous love lives, impregnated themselves (that doesn’t sound right), and so forth. A lot seemed to forget, and lost contact (except through ubiquitous Facebook; Speaking of Facebook, everyone made mention their addiction over Farmville, Typing Maniac, etc. I was labeled nerd to have declared my love for Word Challenge). A few of course are looking for work (hello LaSallites, and Keneth again!), several are preparing themselves for law school or for M.D. or C.P.A. title. And there I was, indifferent to the actual months AFTER graduation rites. I do not know yet what to do exactly, where I’ll be or when to do it. I just couldn’t figure out a plan, being a manipulative moron that I am. I exhausted sembreak time and realized, “WTF, what have I become and what will I want to become?” It’s haunting.

Even though, I am still not ready to face my theoretically last semester in UP. I do not wish to exit the student life: How could you flee drastically from the lifestyle you just spent the last scholastic 15 years of your life with? This might be ironic but I really enjoy campus culture. I could recall an orgmate who was shocked knowing that I just turned 19, “What the? You’re leaving college at 19? I entered college at 19!”

Honestly I want to ditch second semester and enjoy my youth and all naughtiness. UP’s registration day for “graduating” students is today. And I’m still in the province. You thinkin what I’m thinkin?

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on November 3, 2009, in Campus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  2. havent seen you yet. jinojoke lang naman kasi kita eh hahahaha :]]

  3. whaaaaaa! ok bashin ko muna :))

  4. valeriamontoyaaidz

    Bots & cheats Released for Facebook games

    Get it at

    http://www.facebookcheatbot.com/

Leave a Reply

