Dream of Caligraduation

UP JMA Publicity and Communications Committee (Pic by Joseph Pascual)

“Time flies so fast,” our helper would always pronounce randomly. It’s how she usually started a conversation. I could hear her cliché on a daily basis, and I could only politely reply, “Of course. I would then thud in my consciousness and see the following word in neon light: THESIS. The word blinks, zaps and flickers more; it’s like one of those flashbacks in soap operas where the actor involuntarily halts his way and stares at the window like a total idiot. THESIS. Bold, italicized, underlined. I then teleport back to reality and swallow the bitterness of that word.

If you’ve heard about it and laughed about it consequently, yes I have a reportedly notorious adviser for my thesis subject. She’s been infamous since she got two of my orgmates delayed for graduation (til the next semester) years back. Now people tritely warn and scorn at me every time I mention the fact that She Is My Thesis Adviser. But then I calcaulated, tried to figure out that I can be good, better then best. Besides, it’s supposedly my last semester in UP. So I took the challenge– Bring it on!

Three weeks have then paraded, and absolutely I haven’t done anything relevant. My first draft deadline (which she cheerily proposed to be more or less complete) is on the fourth of January, and here I am Facebook-ing myself to boredom and laziness. In which case, I should be working my ass off as stark as possible cos I have OTHER responsibilities to accomplish.

You see my friend Cake used to ask, “Aren’t you tiring yourself too much?” And I could just honestly retort that I am enjoying every minute of it. But honestly guys, I’m scared. Scared of thesis, of graduation, of looking for a job next, of what’s (not) in store for me in the real world. I’m scared for being a lummox.

Another but though, tomorrow I shall stand up, face whatever’s in there (especially that THESIS word) and reach heights.

***

And oh, because I’m putting so much  effort in this, please visit:

www.UPJMA.org

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on November 30, 2009, in Campus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. my rusty typewriter is still fresh in my memory. i used to scream whenever i hear/read the word THESIS from somewhere, like it’s as if someone just pulled a hair from my armpit. goodluck.

  2. Amazing guys! 🙂 great post

Leave a Reply

