Average is Something Much More

Spending college in UP has been extraordinary. In so many levels, I’ve experienced quite a number of both bizarre and blissful things I could’ve not done ever in any private university. Right now before graduation rites, I’ve been encountering attachment symptoms. I can’t seem to liberate myself from the multi-walled institution I’ve been for four years. It seemed like yesterday, I was just being melodramatic about high school but I figured: My college life IS way better than high school’s. No offense.

I know it sounds awful but I’ve never been that “excellent” in UP, generally. I wasn’t diving in grades of uno, getting labeled by meticulous professors as “outstanding,” aiming to become the best-thesis producer in our batch, nor being attributed as a journ major by my look. Believe me, people have had thought of me as broadcast or film major, thus my lack of cerebral vibes has misled them more often than not. Like the man in the previous video, I’m one of the… Average. To drill it further, the one alphabetically before me in the upcoming graduation ceremony is the college valedictorian. Ahh, self-esteem.

Let’s face it, being an average [student] has its perks – no one thinks they’re crazy and people would generally like you.

But hell I care.

I think I’ve done what I can do best. I lent my ears to very intelligent professors and more importantly, got the professors I like to lend their ears to me. I became active in several organizations, college-wide and university-wide. I collected a lot of friends I could ever imagine. I went to field trips and breathed in immersion sites. I realized that I belonged to masscomm after thinking of shifting to creative writing then getting a 3.0 in CW10. I figured out that I hate news, but I know how it is ethically delivered; that I’ll never consider envelopmental journalism as a career track; that I can deal with PhotoShop, Dreamweaver and Windows Movie Maker in just a breeze; that I am a promising photographer, blogger, magazine host, DJ and, yes, singer (modesty aside). I dined on fishballs, isaw, pancit canton, kwek-kwek twice a week at least, but never picked up hepatitis. I developed a love-hate relationship with CRS and resolved to work as RA for free FOR three straight semesters, just to get the subjects I want/deserve. I learned to voice out my political slants and truly evolved to being more critical. I knew popular figures like Rizal, Marx, Durkheim, Blumer, de Saussure, etc. better. I obtained unsolicited dilemmas on frat invitations, intra-org spats, and recent personal scandals. I concluded that romance is just games for the most part. I achieved to be as academically diligent as possible such that my cumulative average was on a raucous brink: 1.75 (Yes, I’m still cum laude). I used all modes of transportation just to pass a late paper. I squeezed out my charm reserves just to have my thesis adviser pass me in the first place. I’ve been, err, wild.

You see, I’ve realized that each of us is never too average. And if people think I’m still ‘average’ for them, I won’t fuzz. I’ve been me and I’ve been good at it. I may have done more stupid than sensible things in my four years but at least I did find the thing they will never find without my permission: Myself.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 14, 2010, in Campus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Awww Barry. Congratulations on being cum laude! I will miss you. 😦 Please visit okay? I know you’ll be pretty busy, but come back to UP at least once a month! 🙂 HIHI

    “I may have done more stupid than sensible things in my four years but at least I did find the thing they will never find without my permission: Myself.”
    – LOVE THIS. 🙂

  2. nothing wrong with being average. 🙂

  3. Congrats! Haha. Huwag ka na magtampo!

  4. BARRY!

    “You see, I’ve realized that each of us is never too average. And if people think I’m still ‘average’ for them, I won’t fuzz. I’ve been me and I’ve been good at it. I may have done more stupid than sensible things in my four years but at least I did find the thing they will never find without my permission: Myself.” -This line, genius! 🙂

    And congratulations! I’m going to miss you!

  5. Barry, I love this blog so much. I was nodding the whole time I was reading it. Congrats on being average! HAHAHA. I’ll miss you! 🙂

  6. naiintindihan kita batang UP… yung kapatid ko kasing bunso, sa UP dn nag-aaral..

    kahit nakaka stress o nakaka sira ng ulo ang pag aaral dyan, fruitful naman at
    marami kang natutunan diba!

  7. Cheers to one of the best [not-so-average] graduates of 2010! 🙂 I remember you told me before that your goal is to have a multi-media presence. I don’t doubt its possibility. Congratulations Barry!

  8. some think i’m from commres! AKALA KO ACTUALLY COMMRES KA! HAHAHAHAHA

    CEREBRAL VIBES! love the term!

  9. Bakit ako naiyak? Haha. Dahil kasi siguro nacucute-an ako sa guy. Or feel na feel ko lang na average ako.

  10. ” I may have done more stupid than sensible things in my four years but at least I did find the thing they will never find without my permission: Myself.”

    Thanks for that line. 😀

    Really, So true..

  11. You sir! Have a great concept of self! Reminds me of me when I was your age. Now that you’re at the next stage of you life, the real challenge is remembering that ‘self’ and staying true to it. (All hokey-ness aside) It’s harder than it sounds.

  12. LOL at hepatitis

Leave a Reply

