Predatorial Candidates

Stitched "love" for the country (Illustration by Me)I’ve grown insane over the omnipresence of our presidential candidates already that I resolved not to talk about them at all. Looked like every one of them has gone complete asses just to become the next ruler of this beautiful country. Especially for Estrada who declared that after he was “illegally removed” from office in 2001 the Philippines’ economy went downhill, I now rest my case. To be fair, I know exactly no one who has the gut to vote for him.

As of now, I  just have to botch myself inexorably and now focus on more interesting individuals: The senatorial candidates.

  • When you run for public office, it is now a requirement to acquire stunning looks above brains and bearing. Gawk closely at Pia Cayetano, Adel Tamano and Gilbert Remulla to know what I’m quibbling here. The three of them actually visited CMC once for some mock polls campaign and in person, they absolutely looked like movie stars. I have some friends who find Tamano especially charming. “May katas pa” (He’s still juicy), one of them articulated. I could only quiver.
  • Speaking of exteriors, another friend said she would not dare vote for Cayetano partially because of her “mahabang leeg”(lengthy neck).

  • Tumblr queen Chui meanwhile once became very bothered by the non-locomotion of Miriam “I eat death threats for breakfast” Defensor-Santiago in the Opposition-women ticket television ad. Apparently, she was superimposed in the part where Loren Legarda and the others gather to conclude the ad. Chui just can’t simply sleep with the thought.
  • Speaking of political hags aka “trapo” aka Juan Ponce Enrile, my question is WHY ARE YOU STILL BREATHING? Not only does this speak of oligarchy, nepotism, and bureaucracy in the system but also of distaste.
  • Once again, speaking of (I correlate every idea in my cerebrum until I can’t actually speak of anything anymore) nepotism, why am I seeing descendants running sanguinely for senate? They’re like emulating this Abraham-Isaac-Jacob-Joseph screenplay intertwined with false monarchy. One time in a Q&A segment in a morning show, Raul Mitra rhetorically advertised himself, “Ako po si Raul Mitra, pangatlong anak ni…”
  • And in a quirky observation, my friends remarked of Querubin who via phone patch never failed to get seen OR heard on TV, “Opo, pinakulong po nila ako” (Yes, they put me in prison).

Philippine politics. Entertainment. Just the same

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 19, 2010, in Politics and Sociology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think it’s pretty normal for people’s votes to be influenced by the “look” of a candidate. In other countries, they spend thousands to make sure that the image is stellar. This is the unfortunate truth. :p

  2. add to the list Risa Hontiveros who is not only pretty but also has substance.

Leave a Reply

