Star Without Glitter

Justin Bieber from Examiner.comHow easy is it to become FAMOUS these days? For starters, you just have to post incredibly edited pictures of yourself on some overrated social network site. For intermediates, you can lift the bar of effort and make sure every cubic volume of your looks, talent and personality is rubbed on the face of your stalkers or accidental visitors. Bow that would be unfortunate for the latter.

I met Justin Bieber– a 16-year old Canadian singer- via Twitter. He was a serious trend which electrified me to start researching about him. I found out he was a discovery of some executive in, yes, YouTube.

Sooner, I’ve been really hearing his songs including Baby and One Less Lonely Girl over the waves, and astonishingly, over conversation with friends. A lot of people dislike him though; for one, they think he’s an overbearing sissy with Aaron Carteresque feel and secondly, they calculate that he should be something more of what he already is before he gets to dominate the credulous status quo. On the contrary, a lot of people also like him (they call themselves BELIEBERS). And as for me towards him? Nah, I’ve gone past my boy-band-cum-rockstar dreams so Bieber is considerably just a part of my uncool self which admissibly would be hard to suck out unless I get castrated.

Bieber apparently fulfills all Charice Pempengco hopes, which is not healthy. (He recently performed in American Idol with Usher and commented that if things were different, he could’ve joined the competition, which again leads us to speculate that he’d need to change his citizenship to do that, which possibly he didn’t realize before uttering such remark.) But my problem boils down to the first sentence: How easy is it to become famous nowadays? Do you even need a Pulitzer or a Nobel to actually become known not just by the popular class but also by the far-intellectual and so  do I sound irritatingly elitist for you?

Hmm. Makes me go critical over fame. Do I EVEN need it, now that I’ve learned that fame isn’t necessarily about honor but of acquiring a hairdo that hypnotizes people to think you’re a “lesbian?”

In Bituing Walang Ningning (the English title, by which the blog post is named), 1985 by Emmanuel H. Borlaza, Sharon Cuneta as Dorina learns the hard, second-rate, trying-hard, copycat way that fame is often unreachable and that you have to climb every summit scathingly burnt before you can even touch it.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 22, 2010, in Audiophile, Persona and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. yup… bigla na lang sumulpot si bieber… easy fame… i prefer the hard path…

  2. Justin Beiber gives me the creeps.

    Fame is not what it used to be.

  3. Justin Bieber?

    Can I puke now?

  4. Baby baby baby ooooh

Leave a Reply

