Who Sings in a Job Interview?

Life after college aka job-hunting-asap-just-because-your-classmate’s-already-employed-and-you’re-totally-not has been pressingly exciting for me. It’s like throwing my self into a pseudo-Hollywood enterprise where only drama kings and queens ruled. I don’t know bout you guys but my job-finding adventure looked more like auditions for the next Mickey Mouse Club brat. It’s beautiful. But it’s way way waaaay dangerous.

You see, I’ve managed to go beyond just submitting resumes online, getting ticked by the “Kept for Reference” label on JobStreet and receiving invitations from strange call centers.

For the past two weeks, I’ve endeavored a hardcore editorial job in a leading broadsheet in the country and as of now, I guess I didn’t get in. Which is not a big deal for me just after realizing that it’s not my forte and my two friends who were with me in in the Top Five applicants really deserved the slots. Speaking of the said job hunt, it was my first and it was my craziest. Being the last to be interviewed, I went in for the purpose to get the panel composed of the bosses still revved up. One particularly asked if I do sing.

“Yes, I do,” I sheepishly replied.

“What was the last song you sang in a karaoke?”

Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey,” admittedly I belted this last week in a dingy bar called Beluga at C5-extension.

“Okay, sing it.”

I paused. “For real?”

And they all nodded. CRAZY, right?!!!

Yesterday, I went to an open call for writers for Philippine Star’s SUPREME which renowned eventologist Tim Yap edits. (Later on, he asked me in public if I’m bros with the boxer Brian Viloria. Now that’s original. Everybody just laughed.) I prodded my blockmate Kat and saw some journalism friends at Dusit Hotel in Makati. We were all gathered inside a boardroom and after a workshop where we were asked to write  short articles about different subjects. Next thing I knew, they separated the group into two, sending the others next door: A la American Idol auditions!!! LOL.

There are a lot more interesting things to share but I just don’t wanna spoil or jinx the entire shtick. I hope this thing actually works or else, I dunno… That’s a bad bad thought.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on June 13, 2010, in Career and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. pabeys po! eheheheh

    • That “Okay, sing it” is one of a kind sir.
      Naaalala ko noong nagjo=job hunt din ako.

      “Marunong ka bang maglinis ng banyo?”
      Teacher ang ina-apply(an) ko. Funny, but I think it’s part of the test.

      What was the score they give you? Just Kidding!

      Big time naman po pala mga in-apply(an) niyo.

      Be blessed sir. I hope you will have a great offshoot and landing dun sa work na para sa iyo.

  2. good thing wordpress now has a ‘like’ option. hold on, i’m going to ‘like’ this post first before i comment. 🙂

    done. 🙂

    hmmm…. job interviews have gone a long way since i started working. yours is nothing short of an adventure. i wish they had this when i was job hunting. it would’ve made the trip to all those shiny offices worthwhile.

    and i hope the supreme thing works. if i ever buy a newspaper, i’d buy one with your name on it. it comes out every saturday, right?

    • I totally don’t get why WP has to keep up with the Like thing but THANKS a lot! 🙂

      I know, it’s like does it always have to be NOT serious with every SERIOUS endeavor I have to take? Lol.

      And thanks for the support! I hope this eventually goes to the top 🙂

      • Hi barrycyrus!

        I totally agree with your comments on the WordPress “Like” and “Reblog” features. It definitely raises points on plagiarism and content theft. I still hope that WordPress would provide an opt-out option, although that seems unlikely.

        I’ve gone through a lot of job interviews before, and being asked to sing for a non-entertainment position is out of the norm. If I was in your shoes, I would’ve felt like the interviewers were ridiculing me. 😀

        Cheers!

        • Hi!

          I mean Rate could have done well, right? I so totally am against REBLOG as WordPress is known for being original, intelligent and professional. Oh well.

          I didn’t feel that bad since the Inquirer bosses were nice. It just seemed that we were magkukumpare in the scene. Which is not necessarily ridicule in my side. Haha it was funny nga eh 🙂

  3. I was able to sit in on job interviews where we ask applicants to sing, or dance. That doesn’t really have anything to do with their job descriptions, I was told that what we should be looking for was spontaneity, and see how they will respond to something so unusual in a job interview. We were looking for store crews and you’ll never know what some crazy customer might ask them so..

    And goodluck to you. 🙂

    I forgot the last song I sang in karaoke. I should do some singing ASAP.

  4. Haha. Tim Yap 🙂
    Goodluck sa iyung jobhunt escapades! 😀

  5. hello, thnx for visiting my site. Nice blod din and cool header! ^^,

  6. Hey again!

    By the way, GOD bless on application. Finding a job can be awkward, so I hope you do get through.

    Cheers!

  7. wow.. journ… hmm…. goodluck… gasgas man, pero try and try at may lalandingan ka din.. toinks… padaan…

  8. ikaw na ang kumakanta ng don’t stop believing sa panel ng mga corporate bosses. lol

    goodluck to your hunting game.

  9. kuya barry good pm… nice kuya… good luck po pala sa job hunting nyo…

  10. I would’ve DIED if they asked me to sing. :c

    But kudos for doing it!

  11. hehe… galing.. nangarir ka sa pag awit ha.. hehe

    goddluck!

  12. I want a job too! But I don’t want to undergo such pop-ish, Hollywood-ish type of application process. 😥

  13. That’s a cool process to undergo. I didn’t get to sing in my job interviews before. I wish I could have done so. :))

  14. First time to read a story of a job interview like this. Barry, you are special. Ayown!

    Prolly the interviewers were also alum of UPD/orgs. You know, our kapwa Iskos, they go beyond the limits. Hehe.

  15. irishprecious

    Funny job interview story. The sing-us-your-song part reminds me of org applications in college. I’m an Isko, too by the way, or actually an Iska from UPM.

    Good luck on your career. 😀

  16. You know what? I’d written “Whistling” in my resume stating it was my interest and hobby. They actually made me whistle. 😉
    Can you believe it?

    PS : I got the job. 😀

Leave a Reply

