Cos Israel in 4 B.C. had no mass communication

Name a mainstream local journalist who makes you feel like submitting yourself into idolatry. Someone you could write a biographical novelette of, someone you could endure breathing the same air in the same room with. Think. Think real hard now… Going once? Going twice?

Does the beauty pageant question kill you? That’s understandable. Giveaway answer of course: Cheche Lazaro, duh.

For all your feedback on “Probe:Ang Ating Kwento” maraming salamat. We are grateful for 24 years of the weekly and thank u all for being a part of Probe! [Cheche Lazaro’s Tweet]

Yep, Cheche Lazaro’s Probe Team aired its last weekly episode last June 30 (the ABS-CBN special was played July 18). And I missed it. But thanks to the website, there’s the 8-part webcast of the episode. My friends couldn’t help but go nostalgic about the entire closure together with famous media divas in their Twitter accounts.

Surely, Ma’am Cheche is one for the books, for being a critical, ethical and principled broadcast journalist altogether. (And by broadcast journalist, I suffice to reject those heavily made-up, ugh, newsreaders.) She drove the independent Probe to be what is it today in our heads: A standard of current affairs investigative delivery.

I am an obvious fan of hers, see, just stare at that photo above. (On second thought, don’t stare too much cos my sweaty, worn-out totoy look  can cause you xerophthalmia.) Months before that shot, I was with two of my orgmates in her Sikatuna office to interview her– on-cam. “Oh my, may camera pala? Wait here please,” she said. After about five minutes, she came back all-glam with make-up and finally blurted, “Now I look human enough.”

My fandom was more than that when I delivered an extemporaneous speech in class, talking about her as a benchmark  of Philippine TV journalists. And my professor, a friend of hers and a fellow fan of course handed me five stars for that. Hah! 🙂

Sorry I can’t help but to share my ramblings on Miss Cheche– the answer for that question I just enforced unto you. Cos with our menagerie  of self-absorbed,  ‘tude-infamous media wo/men, I doubt you could’ve answered me in a snap. I, being a mass communication graduate, have heard proofs on how maldita most celebrities have gone to their colleagues and especially  to the maintenance crew.  Everyone in CMC knows for sure, so I won’t drop names. Fine, they have the “right.” But no matter how intelligent or superior (homo superior, if they’re mutants like Magneto) they seemingly are, I believe being gregarious pays much respect than pulling-off a broadcast news.

***

PS I edited my about page, and took off that longish article and transformed it into a more brief one. I also added some beatnik-vibe-channeling photo to disgust you. LOL.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Persona and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Fine journalist that she is. Nice pick.

    Meh Patricia Evangelista. 😀

  2. naks naman kelan yang pic nyo?

    anyway, mr. eic, spell be(a)uty? unless sinadya mo yan hehe

    uy, at isa pa, june 30 yung last airing ng weekly ep ng profiles. yung july 18, ABS special na yun.

    ***
    oh at napansin mo ba, august na next week!

  3. Hey Barry!

    How fortunate of you to get to meet well-known persons! Yup, she and the Probe Team do great stories. I used to watch that show before, but never sticked to it ’cause the timeslot was so late!

    P.S.: I take it back: Sleeping at 1:00PM can be good for you–you get to be unusually hyperactive for the rest of the day. 😀

    Cheers!

  4. amen on THE Cheche Lazaro. She’s one of those who still makes me proud I came from the same institution as yours. 🙂

  5. Barry, parang I took that photo, noh?

  6. Kuya Barry, I can see that you’re really a fan boy and so as I ^^, but what’s xerophthalmia? haha.

    PS. Your about page. Ooh! Really nice, the photo is not disgusting at all! It’s cool. Believe me! 😀

  7. I can say that you have a better about page now. Hehehe. I’m not a fan of about pages that goes on and on and on eh. Hahahaha. 😀

  8. @ BarryCyrus..!
    gusto ko rin si…
    che che lazaro..!
    i grew up watching..:
    THE PROBE TEAM..!
    then nawili rin ako dati…
    manood nung..:
    5 ang Up..!
    and na sad nga ako nung…
    nag paalam na sila eh..!
    so…
    bakit ka mag a-apologize for…
    “rambling” about her..?
    eh…
    im sure…
    marami ang umi idolo sa kanya..!
    by the way…
    you deserve the 5 stars..! 😉

  9. A friend who had his internship at ANC said na Ms. Cheche was really nice daw talaga. My boss naman said she was a terror lalu na pag thesis defense. But, I definitely agree with your take on her as a media person. One of the best! 🙂

  10. was that the episode where she talked all about the probe team and her days… yun na pala ung last…

    cool about page. reminds me somehow of an autograph book without the cheesy firsts (e.g.: kiss, crush and blah)

    ps. you’re a BLAHger too because you visit the blah in my site. hehehe and thank you for being one

    • The last ep was technically the Noynoy interview. I think hehe the tribute thing was more like by the ABS-CBN na daw.

      thanks! I thought my about page disgusted people! 🙂 LOL

  11. lumipat pala sya sa ABS-CBN? teka, parang dati nasa ABC-5 naman sya? why did she leave GMA7? haha sorry puro tanong. 😀

    • Lol. Um actually hindi naman talaga siya “palipat-lipat” since technically independent ang Probe Team. They’ve like gone through every station na. Basta, ayun. Hehe pero they stayed long sa GMA-7 and a battle of ethical principles caused the severing of business ties. But no hard feelings still IMO.

Leave a Reply

