Missing my Blocmates

I have a confession to make. A large part of my musical taste hails from TV show soundtracks. If I hear something good in the middle of a poignant situation, or a just BG song of a cheesy, picturesque scene, I google it immediately. For starters, I suggest downloading the Gossip Girl or One Tree Hill soundtrack. Then again, most of them ring out amorous but the heck, guys— they’re all good music for me.

But since OTH appears sounds very, well, high school-ish, expect Jimmy Eat World, Dashboard Confessional and the likes. And since the show is so 2000-and-late, you might wanna change your aural pleasures inclined to prom angst and tune in into more urban and fitting for this age. So that leaves us to GG’s soundtrack.

The latter’s New York-ish appeal maybe too (indie) pop for one’s hipster taste. But with the various artists performing in the episode and not in a bar called Tric, no one can deny GG’s verve to put in different genre and make them hits. May it be alternative pop rock (Cobra Starship, Angels and Airwaves, One Republic), psychedelic (MGMT, The XX), electro (Far East Movement), indie pop and rock (The Submarines, Sonic Youth, Plastiscines, Peter Bjorn and John), dance pop (Lady Gaga), and so on.

Ultimately, I’ll never forget how it also gave the English band Bloc Party for my auditory pleasures.

Twas the “O Brother, Where Bart Thou?” episode, I still remember completely: At the evening of Bart Bass’s funeral, Lily enters her penthouse and gets welcomed by the schmuck of teenage drama queen king Chuck. A small overemotional confrontation happens then the freshly-widowed Lily whispers, “Please don’t turn your back from the people you love. Your father never learned that, I hope you do.”

Enter BLOC PARTY’s Signs. In a cinematic juxtaposition, the clips ask the sympathy for Chuck being the new Lonely Boy:

  • Cyrus Rose and Eleanor Waldorf exchanging “I do’s” in front of a rabbi. Two ravens in an old oak tree.
  • Dan Humphrey walking on the gutter thinking in despair that he just lost Serena to a schlepping, pathetic Aaron Rose. And one for you and one for me.
  • Blair heartbroken (as usual). Blue bells in the late December.
  • Lily and Rufus about to elope at that age. I see signs now all the time.

Well I don’t completely know the exact order but I do know Bloc Party was just there, with Kele Okereke crooning, At your funeral, I was so upset… In your life, you are larger than this… Sigh. If you want to know why I adore the group, listen to Signs yourself.

Before I knew it, I was hitting on their singles drawn from guitar rock jiving with electronic music. Positive Tension, Banquet, The Prayer, Zepherus, Sunday, Mercury, name it. And after such hiatus as of October 2009— with everyone in the group individually busy and fair speculations that they’re splitting up— I think it’s time for Bloc Party to come back, don’t you think so too? I just hope this is not some Destiny’s Child: Destiny Fulfilled play where they come back just to record their last songs as a quartet altogether. Then again, as a previous classmate once said, “Who wants to be The Eagles?”

As of now, my petition goes…

Come back, Bloc Party! Come Back!

Kele Okereke (Pic Googled)

PS I just learned via a Twitter friend’s tweet, that Okereke is gay being crowned The Sexiest Gay Musician! Cool for him.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Audiophile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Base ba ako? haha

    Love this!

    “Turning away from the light becoming adult”

    Tama ba lyrics ko? Nu nga ba title nun? Pag naririnig ko yun, napapaindak ako! hehe..

    wow! gay ung vocs? =(

  2. Some of the songs in my playlist came from TV soundtracks too. And it might sound a little weird but most of them came from House M.D. Listen to Coconut and Not As We. Loved those especially.

    I never watched OTH. Never will. The nads to kick Chad Michael Murray out of the show. He was the only reason why I almost got tempted to watching the series back when I was still in college. Pft. :p

  3. I was lucky to see Bloc Party perform before – ang galing! tapos sinundan pa ng the Killers tapos Coldplay.🙂 In fairness, di sila (bloc party) sikat dito.🙂

  4. Noong college ako, hindi ko madalas kasama ang blocmates ko. Ibang bloc ang sinasamahan ko, therefore I miss that bloc. =(

  5. I love TV show soundtracks! CSI and Bones have some of the best songs I’ve heard although the scenes do add to the flavor.🙂
    Will check out Bloc Party. I need a break from all mainstream songs (ehemBieberehem).🙂

Leave a Reply

