The Big Bum Theory

If I’m not mistaken, I’m the only one in our batch who doesn’t have ‘work’ yet. Okay, I’m exaggerating. But I say I’m the only one who’s not that scouring  hard anyway. (I contribute for a pop culture weekly, and not a regular at that, so FYI it doesn’t count.) As much as possible, I try to rely on chance. You can laugh now.

For one, I blame this watertight fact on my being a slacker. I spent the whole month of August–and until now actually– of pure vacation. Hence two other results: 1) I fattened up; and 2) I felt envied by my working classmates who’re already feeding themselves with their own hard-earned cash.

I also blame this on my choosiness. I ditched some ~offers without giving it prior  consideration. Not that I have a right, but I didn’t ~study some crazy years just so I can raise myself money just for the sake of it– I’m still on allowance btw. So pft. I did so cos I feel I should enjoy whatever my first ~job will be. Cos I know I won’t appreciate working if I won’t love whatever I’ll be doing anyway. So on second thought, yeah I think I do have the right.

As of the moment, I just need to get my 10-hours-a-day sleep. Wake me up when September ends. Or when you’ve found a really fitting job for me.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Career and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. You should never feel bad about being in allowance. I wish my parents still give me money. Now’s the other way around. And it’s a sad, sad, place to be in.😦

    • It’s kinda guiltless to milk my rents even after grad. Never feel obliged to give your parents a large chunk of your income. Just give enough, straight from the heart.

      Then again, it’s me advising haha.

  2. Is it really choosiness? Then what’s with the tag “laziness”? LOL

  3. now that you have loads of time. why don’t you do something recreational😄

  4. I agree that you work for something that you love to do. So that it won’t be hard to think it’s work.🙂 But maybe you can also appreciate your first job even if it’s not something you like, by taking the challenge of actually liking it. Oh well, good luck to your job hunting, or should I say job waiting!🙂

    P.S. I’m a stranger who follows your blog because I think that you write really good. Very interesting and amusing posts.🙂

    • Hmm you got me thinking there. I’m actually up for any challenge right now. I’m feeling energetic and motivated to pull-off something hehe

      And also, oh hey! You’re too sweet. I hoped my writing didn’t smother you like the four geeks from the actual The Big Bang Theory. Lol.

      • Hey Barry!

        I agree with Cha, even if a job is not what you really like, you should try to look for something worthwhile in it. After all, a job is just plain winging it.

        And don’t wait for the job to come to you. You can spend years lying around like a bum and nothing will happen. Just do something.

        Maybe you could take up some college subjects? Enroll in some classes that will give you an advantage when the time comes?😀 I know it involves spending, but it’s still a good investment.

        Cheers!

      • I do have postgraduate dreams. But now, I don’t think so pa hehe

        But thanks for the heads up. Truly, my ~real job will come. Hehe.

  5. I’m also choosy when it comes to work and I end up starting my own design firm and be my own boss instead. At least, I have time to write my book which is my first priority aside from my marriage. lol.

    I have a feeling that you’ll get the job you want eventually.🙂

  6. nakakainggit ka nga. gusto ko na rin nga munang mahimlay sa bahay. tapos work na lang pag nakarecover na. hohohoho

    bata ka pa naman,., pero the sooner the better pa din. wag mo lang pressure sarili

  7. It is really a great feeling when you EARN YOUR OWN MONEY.

    But once it starts, you’ll definitely miss that 10 hour sleep routine. Lol.

  8. Nobody wants a job they dont enjoy.
    If you’re on allowance then you have plenty of time to look. lol

  9. Choosy… and lucky. =)

  10. the best opportunity will come in the right time. be patient!

    thanks for visiting my site.

  11. i suggest you extend 10 hours to 12😉
    kills more time :))

  12. Just kill the clock.

  13. ok choosy ka. may point ka naman bakit ka magwowork na alam mong hindi ka mag-eemjoy at hindi mo mahal ito.

    pero ang bait ng parents mo you’re on allowance WOW!
    pero alam ko nararamdaman ak odin after grad September din ako nakapagwork, habang wala nagtutor muna ako ng mga Koreans, the sad thing mas malaki pa ang kita ko nung nagtutor ako ahahaah

    makakahanap ka din.
    gigisingin kita kapag tapos na ang September. LOL

    btw, hahanapin mo ang mahabang sleeping hours na yan kapag may work ka na, cherish it!

  14. Good for you! If you have the option of not having to work immediately, then enjoy your vacation while you can.😀 I’m going to have to validate your statement where you want to have a job that you’d enjoy doing. Trust me, hurrying to get a job just for the sake of it will make you feel burned out sooner than you’d imagine. Ahh, but let us not dwell into my rants. Haha. I hope you find the purrrfect career!😀

  15. hey barry! i have a suggestion for you, since you write pretty well why not consider being a freelance writer? that’s what i do for a living and i’m greatly enjoying it!😉

  16. Okay lang maging choosy kung tarush naman. Wahaha. But yeah, unless you are desperate to get a job on a financial standpoint… ayus lang maging choosy. May ibubuga ka naman eh.😀

Leave a Reply

