Film, Fashion, Future and… Fandom

Last Saturday, I flew to the School of Fashion and the Arts at Makati, for PhilStar Supreme‘s talk on film, fashion and trendspotting.

I was with Chui, who the minute I revealed about Gino dela Paz as one of the speakers, died from squealing. At least, telepathically. Gino’s like her fave columnist, her deliberate crush, and I’ll shut up now.

Anyway, I myself adore Gino as well. The way he represents the meta-geek of pop culture knowledge in us. He can inevitably discriminate a person whose taste’s pretty much licked all-out by nothing but pop. I follow him on Tumblr and he’s pretty much one I look up to– as a writer. He’s worked for Rogue, Status, Preview, Channel [V], and right now he’s a copywriter at  the Financial Times UK. (He brought out a print copy of the paper and one sentence instantaneously syringed in our minds: Why is it salmon pink?) People have been regarding him as a ~hipster and we all know he’s already ejected the consumed idea.

Back to the seminar, Gino was decked with Pepe Diokno, a profound  young filmmaker I occasionally see at UP Masscomm then, and Daryl Chang, whose avant-garde bandage stockings and whole black garb in general blew our minds. So yeah, you can know all about what happened in the seminar aka 10 things from the SUPREME talks which I wrote for the anniv issue right HERE.

Full version: Jan Ong, The Fanboy, Gino dela Paz, Daryl Chang, Tim Yap (Pic by Arianne Chuidian)

As for you, have you grabbed yourself a copy Philippine Star today? You should’ve seen Anne Curtis going androgynous. What a fierce young lady in those scruffy James-Dean-themed photos. A great cover art for Supreme turning three this month!

Again happy birthday to the section– which makes softcore journalism  not to be undermined. There are still a few who don’t exactly know what the hell it is so I have no idea if they even read the papers anymore. “Supreme? What’s that?” “It’s a pop culture and entertainment Saturday section of the Philippine Star,” I’d reply unto their confused faces. It was only when I mention, “You know, the one edited by Tim Yap” that they’d say Aaaah, gets.

Sooner, their enlightenment is choked back. “What’s pop culture?” they’d ask. People.

Anyway, I myself adore Gino as well. The way he represents the meta-geek of pop culture knowledge in us. He can inevitably discriminate a person whose taste’s pretty much licked all-out by nothing but pop. I follow him on Tumblr and he’s pretty much one I look up to, as a writer. He’s worked for Rogue, Status, Preview, Channel [V], and right now he’s a copywriter at Financial Times UK. (He brought a print copy of the paper and one word instantaneously syringed in our minds: Why is it salmon pink?) People have been regarding him as a ~hipster and he’s already ejected the consumed idea.

Back to the seminar, Gino was decked with Pepe Diokno, a profound  young filmmaker I occasionally see at UP Masscomm then, and Daryl Chang, whose avant-garde bandage

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on September 25, 2010, in Career, Events, Persona, Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. wow that’s Anne!
    napakapalad mo naman na manunulat sir barry!

  2. Love Tim Yap! and OMG! who knew Anne Curtis would make such a haawwtt James Dean?🙂

    Her picture is making me totally lesbo hahaha!

  3. god! weh! hindi ko nakilala na si anne kagad??! bakti ginawa niyo siyang lalaki! pero cool ah, creative treatment! hehe

    btw, barry! i launched an advocacy sa aking blog. weird kasi you’ll see me there out of my comfort zone pero i did that to inspire others. may ganon? haha! totoo yun, and i hope you find time to join the advocacy too. salamat ng marami!

  4. Hey Barry!

    Yeah, I saw Anne Curtis’ cover. At first, I thought it was Zanjoe Marudo but then, it was revealed to be Ms. Curtis! I never thought she had it in her to look like an exotic male. Totally a shocker!

    You’re really into pop culture, huh?😀

    Cheers!

  5. Whoa, that’s Anne? If i hadn’t read your post I wouldn’t have known.
    Oh, and you got to meet Pepe Diokno? Lucky you!

  6. At ang hot nga ni Anne. Nakakatibo. Okay, I’m speaking for my girlfriends. Haha.

  7. ahh yes yes this was yesterday’s news right? I’ve seen this, and you wrote that article? that’s cool!!!!🙂

  8. That’s awesome Barry! Btw, I can’t view the photo of Anne, even though I refreshed your page like twice.🙂

  9. That’s a really cool group shot.
    everyone’s having fun.

  10. Ang tangkad mo pala. Yun lang. =)

  11. i read your sofa story.
    congrats, supreme!

Leave a Reply

