Hired!!!

Even Chuck‘s very own Morgan Grimes and Jeffster feel happy for my being, drum roll please, EMPLOYED. (I shiver every time I say or type that word.) Starting tomorrow,  you’ll see me fastened to a PC and a desk or loitering around the ABS-CBN Newsroom, looking Natefused about being part of the working class. Now congratulate me. Who knew a schmuck like me could actually find a “job?”

No one. And that’s my point. HAHA.

Anyway, I think I am among the last people in our batch to have landed ourselves something to make money from. And if you calculate my deadline of looking for one just before the shows of the Fall parade to our doorstep, I think I was on time. Diba I spent the whole August doing nothing? (Tsk, excuses.)

As Maria Ressa exits the network (as my MCO orgmates joked last night, haha), I shall enter the field under ABS-CBN News Dot Com as an online writer. Beforehand, I’ve been replying “cameraman” when friends ask around what my job would be. They’d go SERIOUSLY??! And yes, all caps. I am actually thrilled to do the tasks that anticipate. My editor Sir Gani and my section supervisor are both spring-from-the-earth nice people. Right now, I really don’t care about the salary. I just want to savor the job.

Miss Cita though, my HR handler asked me if it was my first job. Yep, I assured her. “Swerte mo ha, una palang malaki na suweldo mo,” she recollected. She was kidding, of course. As if  people in the media really get paid well. Haha.

So obviously things are going down the throat smoothly. Especially with my mom recovering pretty fast, so thanks for the prayers guys! Assuming you do pray. On the other hand, I’m quite left out from all the TV show fad. I’ve missed White Collar, Gossip Girl, Glee, Merlin, Chuck and Mad Men. Is this the doom of employment? Err, anyhow I now have to concentrate on other more relevant things, like finding myself a cool “office” boho wardrobe. I’ll die if they won’t let me wear shorts in the place.

Even Serena is so happy for me!🙂 (Pic Googled)

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on October 17, 2010, in Career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. *jumping and clapping for you Kuya Barry* FINALLY! Cheers!

  2. congrats, barry! cheers!

  3. congrats!!!! sabi na eh makakahanap ka rin ng trabaho! oha! party party na pagsweldo!

  4. isa ka ng certified kapamilya!!!!!😛

  5. Congrachumaleyshuns!! Please call me if you will happen to interview Enchong Dee…imma fly there and be all fanboy-ish.

    Seriously though….WE’RE EXPECTING BEER…LOTS OF IT. hahahaha!

    PS I hope your mom get’s A-OK na pretty soon…and congrachumaleyshuns…

    ON DR. MCFLIRTY!

    • You seem sincere haha

      Thanks Jean! And the beer will arrive after I ACTUALLY get paid, no? Lol.

      Thanks also for the ~prayers… and honestly, I was thinking of you and some other friends when McFlirty was ~hitting on me. I mean, why not you na lang ang maka-experience ng ganun. Haha See you!

  6. ahoi barry! congrats!!🙂

  7. You missed Glee? Tsk. I know you were excited about the Brittany/Britney episode.

    And congrats with the job!

  8. soooo happy for you Barry! :)) Hangout soon! You’re not a bum anymore haha.

  9. congrats! this calls for a celebration!😉

  10. Congratulations! A blogger in a newsroom. Good for you.

  11. maelfatalis is in the sky with diamonds

    I’m happy for you too. :]

    Cheers to an exciting career ahead of you!

  12. Good job!😀

  13. Congrats, Barry! Haha naiisip ko palang itanong kung may kilala kang Anne Dominique delos Santos dyan sa newsroom, sinabi na niya sa’kin, “kilala ka raw ni barry, yung bago naming writer.”

  14. Clap clap clap. Ngayon ko lang nabasa. Yes, the doom of employment…we can’t watch our favorite shows! (though there’s the Internet naman)

  1. Pingback: The world won’t shut up « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

