Marry (then bury) You

I’m glad that everyone has, one or way another, snaked through Valentine’s Day with zero body count. I had my usual “Manic Monday” yesterday to ~celebrate my Valentine’s. Not that anyone cares actually. Being single aka “the sexy and smart” has been overrated that being a resident whore is now the in thing. Well, not that I have ever taken relationships (hahahaha) seriously anyway.

I can’t believe I have to ask this but does perfect love even exist anymore?

When I was a nerdy, pathetic grade schooler crushing on the most popular girl/s in school, I thought we’d end up together when we’d grow up.

Sure I become friends with her. Period. I will so like the person that I myself won’t even think of— what do you call it— pursuing her?

I also thought that love stories were all going to finish with a “happy ending” on the credits. But this was debunked by the likes of My Best Friend’s Wedding when I was a teenager.

I mean, how unlikely could someone, with separated parents as the first pair to look up to, think that way right?

Even the prettiest bunch failed to even survive the rudeness of fate.

There’s Brad-Jen, Penn-Blake, RyanGosling-Rachel, RyanReynolds-Scarlett and so on. Or maybe both were so pretty the other one turned insecure.

There’s also the May-December-but-cute affair between Heroes stars Milo Ventimiglia and Hayden Panettiere which lasted for a year.

Sure, there are those romantic basketball proposals, engagement done underwater, etcetera etcetera. But admittedly, only a few makes it to being as timeless as the pair John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Neutral Universe

    All of a sudden I miss Heroes.

    Fringe is still the best.

  2. yung Sharon-Gabby break up ang pinakanag-shatter sa akin, when I was a kid. hanggang ngayon, di ako makaget-over.

    true love is overrated, and does not apply to everyone. it is never ubiquitous. eeeeeek, ang bitter lang.

  3. True love? I don’t think it can be found but it can be made. Yun lang. hehe

    Btw, the Yoko Ono – John Lennon photo is the best! haha

  4. For me, perfect love is possible. But there is no perfect relationship, though. 🙂

  5. Don’t ask me! I have never been in any sort of romantic relationship. I don’t even qualify for the ‘it’s complicated’ facebook relationship status.

  6. the worst thing about valentine’s day is trying to avoid it while every damn person I come into contact with keeps yakking about stuff like:

    ‘who cares about valentine’s day?!’ or ‘valentine’s day is plain BS!’ this and that yada yada. I mean, if v-day really means little to you, then just shut the fuck up and treat it as any other day.

  7. Now that last photo came as a bit of a shocker! Alas, Barry’s randomness strikes my nothingness again.

    Shoot me! This was such a fun read.

    Enjoy the rest of your day as much as I enjoyed this post of yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

