Overdue

A blogger’s life used to be different, back when those self-gratifying social network sites weren’t still much of a fad. A blogger’s life was pretty simple: The blogger does, witnesses and reviews activities, and eventually put sthese accounts on a journal in reverse-chronological order.

I used to blog at least once in two days. I make a story out of the most commonsensical anecdotes that will sound like a torn-out leaf from a schoolboy’s diary. I wrote about annoying professors, horrendous films and TV shows, parties, crushes, more crushes, and B-plus opinions on politics and the social scene. Apart from the cheese and corn pouring out of my blog posts, the most important thing for me was that I could write.

Then again, times have obviously changed… I barely blog anymore.

For one, my other foot is buried in the corporate grave. Believe it or not, I barely check my Facebook now. (Fine, I tweet regularly, but that deserves another blog post). Internet surfing revolves around the latest news. I can’t even afford to like a post on Tumblr now. I have softbound books pending. The last time I actually exercised was in the time of Abraham, yes, the father of Isaac. To sum it all up: I HAVE NO LIFE.

If I was in a musical, I could’ve just easily sang the first lines of Elphaba Thropp in her Defying Gravity number: “Something has changed within me. Something is not the same.” I could’ve belted it even better than Idina Menzel!

I dunno, perhaps I just miss writing—and not the writing I do in the newsroom. What I miss is the  kind of writing which usually helps the blogger clear both his heart and mind after zealously ending a post with a period.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on March 26, 2011, in Webisodes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. work is like pringles – once you pop, you can’t stop!

  2. you write for a living man, so it’s not like you just disappear.🙂

  3. @ Barry Cyrus..!
    ibig sabihin lang niyan..:
    tumatanda ka na..!
    pero..,
    okay lang yan..!
    sulat ka lang ulit…
    kapag…
    may maganda ka nang…
    maisusulat..!
    anyway..,
    musta na ikaw..?😉

  4. isang mahabang aaaaaw. we miss you sir!😉

  5. Parang ang tahimik nga ng blogosphere lately, tag-tuyot people! Kailangan ng dilig! LOL.

  6. phase lang yan. circle of life baga. but i hope you get out of that lil funk of yours asap. for your sanity’s sake🙂

  7. Indeed, I also miss writing. That’s why I’m making it a point to post regularly, at least, twice a week this summer.

    I also miss the blogosphere.

  8. facebook is bad for your blog😛

    kaya ako pa-stalk-stalk lang (pero di parin regular ang blog post)

Leave a Reply

