Curse latecomers!

My chat with NBA legend AC Green was brief as a hiccup. Reason? I Was Late. I know, I know, in the media industry, people who diss punctuality should be guillotined. But I’ve changed. It was just  the horrendous traffic that got in the way. “Hello, AC,” I told the  LA Lakers star as we finally shook hands, “We’ve got five minutes to save the world.” “I’m with you, brother,” he replied in agreement.

“Sportsmanship is cool and it’s important to look at teamwork with a positive attitude. You respect your fellow teammate and you’re respecting yourself.” [AC Green]

The 6’9″ American, who’s in Manila for the fifth time, has never been more thrilled to be back.

“I like seeing the growth. I mean, the city’s just blossoming,” he said. “I’m loving it… Always, always.”

And so the real interview started. AC told me he had flown to the Philippines to coach trainees who were under the Jr. NBA National Training Camp. The Camp, meanwhile, holds annual events aimed to nurture aspiring basketball players across the country.

AC and I then talked mainly on sports values and how he fell in love with basketball.

AC Green in an interview (Photo by Ela Teodosio)

AC’s interest in playing hoops started when he was about seven years-old. And of course, the rest of history.

Little did AC know that he will be picked in the NBA Draft in 1985. Aside from the Lakers, AC also played for the Phoenix Suns, Dallas Mavericks and Miami Heat. And in each team he had played with, AC was considered a big gun.

AC Green enduring me. Lol (Photo by Ela Teodosio)

See, AC Green was my first interviewee who’s really a BIG star. Given that I didn’t even know him at first (Hello, NBA losarr me).

AC was nice, more than nice. Later on, I heard he was also religious.

My first international interviewee! Lulz. (Photo by Ela Teodosio)

Well, anyway, like I said: The interview was really short. I was the last among the press people who got to talk to him. It was momentous though, it was momentous.

Read more here.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Persona, Zportz and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful interview and he seemed to be gracious despite you being a bit late. Anyway, it’s nice to back in the blogworld!

    • haha there were press people who had their one-on-one’s with though. And when I reached the place, there are still some two media men talking to me. So he didn’t really wait. 🙂

      Yeah, I’m so back. Haha I will try to blog more!

  2. Really momentous Kuya Barry. Congrats! He’s really nice.

  3. This made me really really excited to graduate… on time. \m/

  4. is that Robi Domingo?

    oops. si Barry Cyrus na pinsan ni Miley Cyrus pala. hahaha 😉

  5. Wow. Ikaw na rubbing elbows with an NBA legend!

    One thing I remember about AC was his relentless work ethic. He’s a workhorse. Not really the type of player who wants to have the ball all the time (hi Kobe), and I think only missed like 2 games in his entire basketball career. He went on to play for like 1000+ games STRAIGHT. That says a lot about his conditioning and professionalism.

Leave a Reply

