What Lent means to me

It’s Lent. Although I don’t exactly know what The Lent means in the big picture aside from more movies like Ten Commandments to adorn free television, and given my non-practicing Catholic… ways, I still kind of celebrate it.  I grew up a Catholic whether I like it or not. The only thing I like about Lent is that it’s peaceful and my fave faith movie The Prince of Egypt is also aired interminably.

I first watched The Prince of Egypt somewhere during late grade school or early high school. We were “required” to watch it for our religion class in St. Paul. The film revolved around Moses and his brother Rameses. The two were the most powerful men in Egypt until they part ways because of  the, yes, burning bush scene.

The Prince of Egypt

Of course, everyone knows much of how the story went. In this animated movie, not only we are spared of Charlton Heston’s Mufasa facial hair but we are spared of the voice who sounded like God.

That Hair.

The Prince of Egypt tackles not religion but holding on to your idealism and people, above all. It speaks on knowing what’s right and fighting for it, amid sensitive relationships with the people you once played on some random Pharaoh’s tombstone with. And did I forget, how tormenting the plagues were when animated along with an amazing musical score?!

Speaking of music, there’s also the soundtrack featuring the poignant When You Believe by the duo of Mariah Carey and pre-junkie Whitney Houston. I don’t know about you guys but Leon Jackson’s rendition icks me. It’ doesn;t even deserve “blah.” It’s WORSE than blah.

Anyway, enough bad vibes for the week. It’s Lent and I still have no idea what to do. I just hope everyone finds peace in every sense of the word.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Culture, Mmmovies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. The best thing to=]
    {“””{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{~

  2. Hope you’ll find relaxing things to do Kuya Barry. And peace, too.

  3. I have you on film! As in actual film! HOHOHO.

  4. napapakanta ako.

    “you will when yoooouuuu believe….”

    i like the movie prince of egypt too.🙂

    belated happy easter!

  5. and what do you say about David Archuleta’s rendition of WYB? (i think it was during the Mariah week)

Leave a Reply

