So long, Newsroom (at least for now)

Tonight is officially my last as a mobile staff/ writer/ semi-reporter of ABS-CBNNews.com. I’ve resigned May 31—just in time the summer heat rockets its way out of the country. (If you’re trying to know why I resigned, you won’t find anything beyond this sentence.) I will welcome the rainy months by leaving both my first regular job and the people I’ve learned to love while at work. At least for now, goodbye bustling Newsroom.

I will definitely miss a lot after tonight. I will basically miss working at night, schmoozing with our neighbors in ANC, occasionally bumping into and chatting with anchors and reporters, covering events, out-scooping competition, among others.

I will, no doubt, miss the editors and fellow dotcom journalists whom I have also become close with. I have gotten a lot of strength from my colleagues here that I couldn’t even have survived the pressure of the newsroom without them. I will miss those frequent pizza deliveries that would distract us from our “breaking news” modes. So what if Gaddafi is doing something stupid? The pepperoni is waiting.

My resignation is not bringing that much gloom, however. See, I’ll just be finding my next desk at the, yes, ABS-CBN Publishing Inc. It’s eight floors away so it wouldn’t be much of an emotional trouble to get by.  Hahaha.

To add, who knows if I might be coming back to the news department anytime soon?

And so to end this blog entry, I just wanna thank everyone whom I have met in my whole 7 months stay in ABS-CBN News. Thank you for making my first ~regular*~ job worthwhile, and for making me believe that I too can deliver in what I’ve been doing for the better part of my existence: Writing.

Until next time!

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Career and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Hey Barrycyrus! I think I happened to see you one noon at the Loop.🙂

  2. I wish you well on your new job!

  3. what’s your new role?

  4. Barryboy!! I’ll miss you and the nightly pangungulit! You’ll be welcome back here. I’m sure you’ll miss it. Haha. Sa uuliting dinner!

  5. ayun naman pala. thought you’d be going somewhere else…just eight floors away lang naman pala.

    It’s also good you have fond memories of your first job and that you’re just moving within the group. Means ABS CBN is a good place.🙂

  6. lipat kwarto lang naman pala :p have more fun in your next job/office! i wish you more pizzas! hihihi

  7. 7 months ka na palang nagwork for ABS-CBN. Time flies really fast. Anyway, congratulations to your new job Kuya Barry! Best of luck!

  8. Others (including me) could only wish of staying longer in the newsroom and experience the thrill of writing.🙂 Good luck on your next job!🙂

  1. Pingback: Hey June! (Don’t let me down!) « I D I O T B O X

  2. Pingback: Puerto Paraiso (Ending summer at Palawan) « I D I O T B O X

Leave a Reply

