Captain America = Zzzzz…

Joe Johnston’s Captain America: The First Avenger is a sad, dragging movie that was only produced just because it had to anticipate The Avengers, a supposedly mightier flick with a packed cast and a seasoning of relevance to the times. The latter will be shown on 2012. Captain America had a boring arrive for a superhero film; it’s so boring that I’m half-asleep typing this review.

A strong man, who has known power all his life, will lose respect for… power. But a weak man knows the value of strength. And knows compassion. [Erskine]

There were several portions which were not given their due. I wanna question who Peggy Carter is and her hair AND her significance. I felt bad that Tommy lee Jones was dunked in that role. He had funny zingers as Col. Philipps yes (“I still think he’s skinny!” “Give that boy a sandwich.”) but… He is The Tommy Lee Jones! I, for one, think he deserves more.

Chris Evans was more interesting when he was just a head atop some skinny kid. (Photo Googled)

Meanwhile, I now feel disastrous for Chris Evans to have eventually taken this role after hearing that he first declined on it. The remarkable Human Torch has seemingly spent a thousand percent of his routine in the gym with that burly stature of exploding biceps and staring man boobs. (He actually acted better when he was that scrawny, hypochondriac guy in CGI!) And now he gets… this.

Tell me if your screen is too little for this guy. (Photo Googled)

I don’t know. Maybe his transformation as the brooding, sleeve-bursting Steve Rogers will get redeemed in The Avengers. Let’s wait and see. I yearn heavily for 2012 now.

***

ANYWAY, as I was browsing if the producers have already released a The Avengers poster online, I found this and instantly felt a frisson on my gut!

The Avengers by Jeremiah S. Chechik, 1998 (Photo Googled)

Old school The Avengers was shown in 1998. I’ve watched it via VHS years later and I believe it’s the first movie I’ve seen Ralph Fiennes in. If I remember it right, he had this Penguin-like weapon of an umbrella. Fiennes and action vixen Uma Thurman played agents who were up against the villain who was portrayed by Sean Connery.

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Mmmovies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I love how you write! Haha, my friends have said the movie is quite amazing on the other hand. I’ll have to watch it soon and form my own opinion😉

  2. Sayang. Yung Septic Tank movie ang pinanood ko. →_→

  3. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’ll check it out when I have time. Just looking at Chris Evan’s body makes me want to double my work out time lol!

  4. Barry, why o why.

    I thought I was able to warn you about this God-forsaken movie!?

    http://humanbullshit.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/youve-been-warned/

    • Haha it was compulsory before watching The Avengers next year eh. I had to.

      Anyway, it’s fine. The movie just made me insecure with Chris Evans’ body tho. T_T

  5. i liked the movie… to pass the time I guess.
    May 2012 is a long time to wait for The avengers Movie.

Leave a Reply

