The UAAP Magic

I never would’ve given a damn about the UAAP if I didn’t go to one of its schools. I was then a vapid sports fan. But gradually, thanks to the “school spirit” concept,  I gave in to watching the Philippines’ largest college sports league, particularly the hoop fest and the cheerdance competition. UAAP, like a mentor once said, is taken seriously in contrast to commercial basketball conferences. It’s a clash of identity and no one backs down easily.

I had first gotten involved in UAAP itself during the first half of my fourth year in college; my PR professor, then working for UAAP’s media relations, tapped our class to help out. Our class primarily observed how the entire thing worked, with a little work of passing around score sheets from the barker straight to the press room of Araneta, on the side. It was pro bono but it wasn’t at all going against our will. Besides, nothing was as rewarding as free access to a game, right?

From that experience, I gained more friends. I crossed paths anew with UAAP when I was given to work for this year’s special issue of UAAP Magazine. It just got off from the printer but it took months for the team to complete it. With my editor Jinno and the entire gang on board, UAAP Mag came out to be one of the best masterpieces I had helped produce.

While writing and setting up shoots for the said magazine, new-found friends in the sports industry came to a heap. Walking around Araneta became more like roaming my own house. Everybody’s so familiar from the hosts to the players to the UAAP board to the photographers.

Through the years, UAAP seems to have ruled over a great part of me. So it did to thousands of fans out there. I know… It’s so college-y but whatevs. I’ll be giving it all-heart support as always. My love for it has become paramount and unconditional.

UAAP Magazine now in major bookstores! :D

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Books and Literature, Campus, Career, Culture, Zportz and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I nominated you for a WP award!

  2. Haha, on my blog! A few posts down now, but if you accept I hope you have fun with it =)

  3. Hahaha! I remember a couple of weeks ago, I was waiting in line at 7-11 so I decided to pick this magazine up and browse through it. Then the guard approached me and basically told me to put the damn magazine back on the rack because I have to buy it first. I didn’t because I hate DLSU’s Van Opstal being on the cover. It should have been Kiefer. or at least Greg freaking Slaughter.

    Buy you guys did a great job based on the 20 or more seconds of browsing.

  4. Hello there Barry!

    I just have one question for u:

    I see a nice calendar on your page and many other fancy widgets on your page. How did u insert them ? Are they part of the theme or u took them from somewhere else?

    Hear from you.

Leave a Reply

