Back to blogging

I was chilling out at Xocolat, Katipunan last Saturday with my friend Aien, who later asked me to help her build a “real” blog. By real, she meant something that shows some personality, and with no-nonsense, original content. I suggested she try out WordPress, the platform which I’ve been using for the past four years. I then gave her a little tutorial about how it works. Then it struck me: I miss blogging, and the entire experience of it.

I started blogging in college freshman year using the platform, Blogger. After a year of airing out uncensored vents specifically about my military-strict, high-strung badminton professor, and an instance of forgetting my just-reset password, I left the blog. I transferred to WordPress, and I, the non-blogger, was born.

I have grown to love blogging. I’d like to believe I was one of those who’ve blogged actively when blogging was in its golden years. A truly moving new medium, blogs have turned the tables around, and gave a voice to a great portion of the once-mute humankind. As cases in point, the nerds became popular, the cam whores turned more narcissistic than ever, the ungrammatical transformed into laughingstocks, and so on. Lol.

What I’ve most loved about blogging, apart from learning new things by different perspectives, is the networking aspect of it. I’ve gradually become friends with people I haven’t even met personally, and seeing them in actual person became defining moments of, say, “Is s/he a real person?” kinds of crisis. Lol.

While the experience verges toward creepy sometimes, it became exciting and amusing. (And I’m utmost sure the more popular bloggers out there encounter things like the following, too.) I sport an honest smile whenever people would comment on my blog, or privately message me online just to tell me that they saw me somewhere else, but didn’t say hi because they were “blog-struck.” Or that one time someone genuinely praised me on his blog, saying I was “gay but cool.” Hahaha! People.

So there. Whether the universe likes it or not, and despite I sounding too trite, I’m sure back here to blog more. (And I think the “comeback” is also because I miss writing everyday.)

About barrycyrus

Hi, I'm Barry Viloria, 21 and not a blogger. I occasionally bitch about what's hot, what's not, what's life-threatening and what's Blake Lively wearing but I refuse to be called a "blogger." That's it.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Webisodes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. welcome back! been a long time

  2. The same sentiments I have. I miss blogging and the golden age of it. When I switched to Tumblr, I must have turned lazy and I’m pursuing this year on a more constant blogging habit. Keep on writing! You’re on my blog roll now and I check the site before I even open my office inbox. Haha!

    • Oh, hey “Michael.” haha

      I love Tumblr but sometimes, it shows NSFW images, and the ~self image-conscious*~ me becomes afraid people in the office would judge me. Lol.

      Thanks for welcoming me back too! You’re too nice. Good day!

  3. bumalik ka na pala! miss you here!😉

Leave a Reply

